ECOSYSTEMS, SYSTEM REVIEWERS AND DISCUSSANTS

System Authors/coauthors Discussants

ROCKY INTERTIDAL Rocky intertidal communities: past environmental changes, present status and predictions for the next 25 years
Stephen Hawkins
sjha@mba.ac.uk or
George Branch
Gmbranch@tie.egs.uct.ac.za
  Tasman Crowe Juan Carlos Castilla
jcastill@genes.bio.puc.cl
  Richard Thompson Steven Gaines
gaines@lifesci.ucsb.edu

ROCKY SUBLITTORAL/ KELP BEDS Robert Steneck
steneck@maine.edu
Rodrigo Bustamente
Rodrigo.bustamente@marine.csiro.au
  Bruce Bourque  
  Debbie Corbett Paul Dayton
pdayton@ucsd.edu
  Jon Erlandson
  James Estes Geoffrey Jones
Geoffrey.jones@jcu.edu.au
  Michael Graham

CORAL REEFS Tim McClanahan
crcp@users.africaonline.co.ke
John Ogden
jogden@marine.usf.edu
    Robert Buddemeier
buddrww@kgs.ukans.edu
    Ove Hoegh-Guldberg
oveh@uq.edu.au

SANDY SHORE Sandy shore ecosystems and the threats facing them: some predictions for the year 2025
Alec Brown
acbrown@botzoo.uct.ac.za
Nancy Jackson
jacksonn@oak.njit.edu
  Anton McLachlan
antonmd@squ.edu.com
Douglas Sherman
Sherman@usc.edu
    Karl Nordstrom
nordstro@imcs.rutgers.edu

SALT MARSH Saltmarshes in a time of change
Paul Adam
p.adam@unsw.edu.au
Antony Davy
a.davy@uea.ac.uk
    Joy Zedler
Jbzeddler@facstaff.wisc.edu
    Mark Bertness
Mark_bertness@brown.edu

SOFT-BOTTOM
CONTINENTAL SHELF
Stephen Hall
s.hall@aims.gov.au
Simon Thrush
s.thrush@niwa.cri.nz
    Stuart Rogers
s.i.rogers@cefas.co.uk
    Charles Peterson
cpeters@email.unc.edu

ESTUARINE Environmental threats and environmental future of estuaries
  Michael Kennish
kennish@ahab.rutgers.edu or
kennish@imcs.rutgers.edu
Robert Livingston
livingst@bio.fsu.edu
  Dave Raffaelli
dr13@york.ac.uk
    to be announced

MANGROVE SWAMP Present state and future of the world's mangrove forests
Daniel Alongi
d.alongi@aims.gov.au
Robert Twilley
rtwilley@louisiana.edu
    R. Dodd
dodd@nature.berkeley.edu
    Samuel Snedaker
ssnedaker@rsmas.miami.edu

SEAGRASS BEDS The future of seagrass meadows  
Carlos Duarte
ieacdq@clust.uib.es
Diana Walker
diwalker@cyllene.uwa.edu.au
    Jens Borum
jborum@zi.ku.dk
    Frederick Short
fred.short@unh.edu

POLAR/ ICE EDGE Andrew Clarke
Andrew.Clarke@bas.ac.uk
Dan Lubbin (provisional)
dlubin@ucsd.edu
  Colin Harris
cmh@pcmail.nerc-bas.ac.uk
Ray Smith,
ray@icess.ucess.ucsd.edu
    to be announced

MARINE PELAGIC Status, trends and future of the marine pelagic ecosystem
Peter Verity
peter@skio.peachnet.edu
John Steele
jsteele@whoi.edu
  Victor Smetacek Fereidoun Rassoulzadegan
fereidoun.rassoulzadegan@obs-vlfr.fr
  Theodore Smayda Frede Thingstad
frede.thingstad@im.uib.no

DEEP OCEAN Paul Tyler
Pat8@mail.soc.soton.ac.uk
Ricardo Santos
ricardo@dop.uac.pt
  Coauthor to be announced Craig Smith
csmith@soest.hawaii.edu
    Lisa Levin
llevin@ucsd.edu
     
RIVERS & STREAMS Threats to the running water ecosystems of the world
Björn Malmqvist
Bjorn.malmqvist@eg.umu.se
Colin Townsend
colin.townsend@stonebow.otago.ac.nz
  Simon Rundle Alan Covich
alanc@cnr.colostate.edu
    Christopher Robinson
christopher.robinson@eawag.ch

LARGE LAKES/INLAND SEAS Large freshwater lakes: present state, trends, and future
Alfred Beeton Ken Stewart
kstewart@acsu.buffalo.edu
    Bernard Wehrli
bernhard.wehrli@eawag.ch
    Robert Hecky
rehecky@sciborg.uwaterloo.ca

SMALL LAKES/PONDS Christer Brönmark
christer.bronmark@limnol.lu.se
Erik Jeppesen
ej@DMU.dk
  Lars-Anders Hansson Brian Moss
brmoss@liverpool.ac.uk
    Glenn George
dgg@ceh.ac.uk

COOL TEMPERATE BOG The future of cool temperate bogs
Peter Moore
peter.moore@kcl.ac.uk
Dale Vitt
dvitt@mail.science.siu.edu
    Nils Malmer
Nils.Malmer@planteco.lu.se
    Michael Proctor
m.c.f.proctor@exeter.ac.uk

TROPICAL SWAMP Wolfgang Junk
wjj@mpil-ploen.mpg.de
Brij Gopal
gopalb44@hotmail.com
    Charles Breen
breen@inr.unp.ac.za
    Max Finlayson
maxf@eriss.erin.gov.au

TEMPERATE SWAMP Temperate freshwater wetlands: types, status, and threats

Mark Brinson

Brinsonm@mail.ecu.edu
Jos Verhoeven
j.t.a.verhoeven@bio.uu.nl
  A. Inés Malváres Beth Middleton
bmiddleton@plant.siu.edu
    Barbara Bedford
blb4@cornall.edu

SUBTERRANEAN AQUATIC Dan Danielopol
Dan.danielopol@oeaw.ac.at
Janine Gibert
janine.gibert@univ-lyon1.fr
  C. Griebler
Christian.griebler@uni-tuebingen.de
David Culver
dculver@american.edu
  Amara Gunatilaka
Gunatilaka@verbundplan.at
Boris Sket
b.sket@uni-lj.si
  J. Notenbooml
j.notenboom@rivm.nl
 

SALINE LAKES to be announced Robert Jellison
rjellison@earthlink.net
    William Last (provisional)
mlast@ms.umanitoba.ca
    to be announced

FLOODPLAINS Riverine flood plains: present strate and future trends
Klement Tockner

klement.tockner@eawag.ch
Karel Prach
prach@bf.jcu.cz
  James Ward
jvward@eawag.ch
Robert Naiman
naiman@u.washington.edu
  Jack Stanford
stanford@selway.umt.edu
Chris Gordon
chrisgordon@ighmail.com
     



BACKGROUND KEYNOTE REVIEWS

Topic area Speaker Institution
FISHERIES Daniel Pauly Fisheries Centre, University of British Columbia, Vancouver V6T 1Z4, Canada
Email pauly@fisheries.com
WATER Dale Whittington City and Regional Planning, University of N Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-3140, USA
Email dale_whittington@unc.edu
PEOPLE Robert Engelmann (provisional) Yale University/ Population Action International, Washington, DC 20036, USA
CLIMATE Ronald Prinn Earth Atmospheric & Planetary Sciences, MIT, Cambridge, MA 02139-4307, USA




©EAWAG, last update 23.04.2002, Manuela Frei, back to top